LAAX OPEN is ON! Everything You Need to Know…

The cream of the crop are in Switzerland to battle it out for victory. What, when and where to watch...

Events are back in action. After a very long 10 month hiatus. Riders are back on the competitive circuit and set to blow up. They’ve been sitting around for too long now, the itch has over 200 competitors flocking to Switzerland this week to drop in to the first World Cup snowboard event of the season.

The LAAX OPEN kicked off slopestyle training today with qualifiers going down tomorrow and there’s action running daily all week up till 23 January.

What is the LAAX OPEN? It’s one of the most important snowboarding events in Europe. Hosting the best riders in slopestyle and halfpipe to lay it all on the line to take out the podium. All contributing to the FIS Snowboard World Cup points and more importantly (for some) a prize purse of over $200K to take home.

Click here to check the full schedule of events running across the week. Key dates you want to tune in on to watch the live action for the finals is the 22cnd & 23rd.

The heavy hitters have all rolled into town to compete. With the 2022 Winter Olympics just around the corner, all riders are putting in the yards to stamp their name and put others to shame. GOLD.

What heavy hitters? Shaun White is in town, Chloe Kim, Mark McMorris, Anna Gasser, Zoi-Sadowski Synnott, Scotty James. It’s going to be a battle you don’t want to miss.

Who are we backing? Obviously the Aussie & Kiwi’s – Zoi Sadowski-Synnott, Cool Wakushima and Tess Coady are holding it down in Women’s slopestyle, Valentino Guseli and Scotty James in the halfpipe, Emily Arthur in Womens halfpipe and Matty Cox in slopestyle.

How to watch the event live? It’s being streamed live right here & here.

Check the full rider list for both slopestyle & halfpipe below:

Slopestyle Men:
Pedro Bidegain, Federico Chiaradio De Le Iglesia (ARG); Matthew Cox (AUS); Clemens Millauer (AUT); Sebbe De Buck, Jules De Sloover (BEL), Liam Brearley, Mark McMorris, Tyler Nicholson, Max Parrot, Cameron Spalding, Seb Toutant (CAN), Inaqui Irarrazaval, Alvaro Yanez (CHI), Dante Drcic (CRO), Jakub Hrones ( CZE), Jose Antonio Aragon (ESP), Mikko Rehnberg, Rene Rinnekangas (FIN), Sebastien Konijnenberg, Enzo Valax (FRA), Gabe Adams, Matt McCormick, Jamie Nicholls (GBR), Leon Gütl, Noah Vicktor, Leon Vockensberger (GER ), Botond Fricz (HUN), Baldur Vilhelmsson (ISL), Loris Framarin, Emiliano Lauzi, Emil Zulian (ITA), Kaito Hamada, Aoto Kawakami, Ryoma Kimata, Hiroaki Otsuka, Ruki Tobita, Yuto Yamada (JPN), Motiejus Morauskas ( LTU), Niek van der Velden, Sam Vermaat, Casper Wolf (NED), Torgeir Bergrem, Mons Roisland, Marcus Kleveland, Stian Kleivdal,

Slopestyle Women:
Tess Coady (AUS), Anna Gasser (AUT), Evy Poppe, Loranne Smans (BEL), Jasmine Baird, Laurie Blouin, Sommer Gendron, Brooke Voigt (CAN), Lea Jugovac (CRO), Sarka Pancochova (CZE) , Maria Hidalgo (ESP), Enni Rukajärvi (FIN), Lucile Lefevre (FRA), Katie Ormerod (GBR), Nadja Flemming, Annika Morgan (GER), Hinari Asanuma, Reira Iwabuchi, Kokomo Murase, Miyabi Onitsuka (JPN), Melissa Peperkamp (NED), Hanne Eilertsen (NOR), Zoi Sadowski Zynott, Cool Wakushima (NZL), Elizaveta Bogdanova, Ekaterina Kosova, Varvara Romanova (RUS), Urska Pribosic (SLO), Lia-Mara Boesch, Ariane Burri, Sina Candrian, Mona Danuser, Livia Tanno (SUI), Klaudia Medlova (SVK), Terra Traub (TPE), Jamie Anderson, Isabella Gomez, Hailey Langland, Julia Marino, Ty Schnorrbusch (USA).

Halfpipe Men:
Valentino Guseli, Scotty James (AUS), Jack Collins, Shawn Fair, Liam Gill, Derek Livingston, Kiran Pershad, Joshua Reeves, Liam Tourki (CAN), Benedikt Bockstaller, Christoph Lechner, Florian Lechner, Mark Schrott (GER) , Seamus O’Connor (IRL), Lorenzo Gennero, Ian Matteoli, Louis Philip Vito (ITA), Ikko Anai, Kaishu Hirano, Ruka Hirano, Raibu Katayama, Shuichiro Shigeno, Yuto Totsuka (JPN), Kangsan Kim, Hyun-Jun Lee (KOR), Yaroslav Lenchevskiy, Maksim Suikov (RUS), Max Kralj Kos, Tit Stante (SLO), Elias Allenspach, Gian Andrin Biele, Pat Burgener, David Habluetzel, Victor Ivanov, Jan Scherrer (SUI), Chase Blackwell, Lucas Foster , Taylor Gold, Chase Josey, Toby Miller, Joey Okesson, Ryan Wachendorfer, Shaun White (USA).

Halfpipe Women:
Emily Arthur (AUS), Brooke Dhondt, Elizabeth Hosking (CAN), Sarka Pancochova (CZE), Queralt Castellet (ESP), Leilani Ettel (GER), Kurumi Imai, Manon Kaji, Haruno Matsumoto, Mitsuki Ono, Ruki Tomita , Sena Tomita (JPN), Sunoo Kwon, Na-yoon Lee (KOR), Jenise Spiteri (MLT), Kaja Verdnik (SLO), Isabelle Loetscher, Berenice Wicki (SUI), Arielle Gold, Zoe Kalapos, Chloe Kim, Maddie Mastro , Tessa Maud, Taylor Obregon, Alexandria Simsovits, Kinsley White (USA).

Stay tuned for more updates from the event across the week!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Posts

Watch Now

Subscribe to our newsletter

Get the low down on the latest news & reviews